Primary Foods

12 Oct

Wholefoods

So…I’ve just started this program at Institute of Integrative Nutrition (IIN), and one of the main points of this blog is to take readers along for the ride. I have just finished listening to 3 introductory lessons—one of the lessons was about primary foods. So many health enthusiasts, especially raw foodists, focus WAY too much on eating perfectly (I’m so guilty of this) but end up lacking in other important areas of their life. It got me thinking about the other important areas of life that I have been ignoring.

The areas of focus are: relationships, physical activity, career, and spiritual development (which can include anything from meditation, to journaling)—you don’t have to be religious to have a spiritual life.

Anyway, to start off I thought I would share the areas in my life that I looked at:

Relationships: This is the area that is suffering the most in my life. I definitely lead an overly isolated life, I am extremely introverted (not shy.)  Being an introvert is difficult when trying to socialize. I find a lot of things that people talk about to be superficial and have a hard time pretending that I’m interested. I tend to spend a lot of time by myself, either reading or practicing my photography. I LOVE my alone time but know that this much time alone isn’t good for me. I am also very self-critical, so this year I want to learn how to better accept/love myself.

Physical: This is also an area that needs improvement. When I’m doing physical activity consistently (my personal choice is tennis) I’m fine- it’s when I miss a day or two that I lapse back into a sedentary lifestyle .

Career: I’m currently a student (Bach of Commerce) so my work right now is part time— but I do have specific visions and goals for my career that I am very excited about. I want to build a career around my first love, holistic health and wellness. I am okay in this area.

Spirituality: Good in this area (sort of? ha) I am still evolving, and trying to find what works for me. I do spend much time and thought reading and pondering in this area. I also like to write in my journal, and keep a gratitude list.

GOALS:

–       I will exercise at least 3 times per week

–       I will initiate more activities with friends and family

Live well

C-

2 Responses to “Primary Foods”

  1. ironedunderpants October 12, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    Good post! I am very interested in nutrition and “health-seeking behavior” while finding balance in today’s society. Finding a way to nourish our bodies in a contemporary and sustainable way is a constant source of fascination in my little life in Cádiz, Spain. I too am an introvert and although I try to live a very healthy life, I find that social activities here cannot be exempt of beer or wine (and little fried pieces of food, and too much white bread, and bla bla bla)…and I end up drinking it, not only because I like it, but because it helps me to “last longer” and be more gregarious at social events. I struggle with this as I feel that my body does not benefit from any alcohol…but my introverted-ness does! I am excited to hear about your discoveries in your Integrative Nutrition studies, and also about finding balance with other parts of your life.

    • chelsea8585 October 12, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

      Thanks for the comment! Spain? How wonderful, I hope you’re enoying it there 🙂 I hear ya on the drinking at social gathering pressures. Drinking is an important part of the cultural here is Australia, and it can be tiring always having to explain why I don’t want a drink…or a piece of their unidentified fried food LOL I’m getting used to the fact that I may be seen as different, but it doesn’t bother me so much– I can deal with being different 🙂

Leave a Reply

